Creating Your Personalized Color Pallete 

If you are anything like me when shopping for clothes, you tend to gravitate towards the exciting accent items. I am always so excited with my purchases until I get home and realize I don’t have anything to match! Because of this and the dreaded, “I got it because it was on sale” phenomenon, my previous wardrobes have been staple-less and very colorful, with minimal available matching. 

After losing weight, having a baby, and losing more weight, I had an excuse to get a whole new wardrobe. So I took control of the reins and planned my first capsule wardrobe! See my previous post on how to plan one for yourself. 

While diving into the word of Capsule Wardrobes, I was introduced to the idea of a personal color pallete! 

So what is a personal color palette? Taking the tones from your face and hair, you can create a complimentary color pallete to help you find the perfect colors for your wardrobe! 

This is ideal for those of you who aren’t sure what colors look good on you, or for those who want more ideas and color inspiration! 

You can create your own using Photoshop and Adobe Illustrator, or by using some free apps. I used the free apps “Color Snap” by Sherwin Williams and “Adobe Capture.” 

First, you need to take a photo of yourself in COMPLETE natural light, no direct sunlight or other shadows on your face. Light or no makeup is best, so you are matching your actual skin tone and not your foundation. And don’t add any filters! 
Then using Color Snap, you will pull colors from the following places-

  1. Cheek
  2. Forehead
  3. Roots
  4. Body of hair
  5. Lips
  6. At least 2 from your eyes


Next you click on each individual color and find the RGB values. 


This is what you will input into Adobe Capture! 


Find the Analogous, Monochromatic, Triad, Complimentary, Compound, and Shades for each RGB value. 

After ruling out similar colors (or ones you just do not like), use your favorite editing app to arrange all the colors into a collage! 

This exercise just reaffirmed to me that I look good in greens, blues, purples, and reds. But it also gave me several new colors outside my comfort zone, like olive and pink. 

I made my basic capsule wardrobe plan before I did my color palette, so it was interesting to see how close I was when picking my colors! 


Overall, I think this was a great exercise to help me be more deliberate and aware when picking out fabric and clothing. I am so often blinded by “pretty” that I don’t think about how the item will compliment me directly. 

I would love to see your completed color palettes! Drop them in the comments below! 

Leave a Reply

