MeMade Spring Capsule Wardrobe 

My body has gone through a lot of changes in the past three years. First, I lost about 15 pounds, then I got pregnant, and now I am on the downward slope of postpartum. When I look in the mirror, I don’t see the same person anymore! 

Because of this, NONE of my clothes fit. Well, maybe one or two items- but the majority of the items are either no longer flattering, too big, or are worn through from overwearing. 

I originally took up sewing to make clothing for my children! Once I was brave enough to make my first set of mommy and me leggings, it was over. 

What is the logical next step? MAKE ALL THE CLOTHES.

.

.

.

Buuuuuuut, my bank account might have a problem with this. Now granted, making my clothing is SO much cheaper, but you have to be careful not to go overboard. I adopted the same philosophy I do when shopping sales or thrift stores- just because it’s cheap doesn’t mean you need it! 

SO, long story short, I decided to revisit the capsule wardrobe idea! I did this 3 years ago, but I am basically starting from scratch. Instead of purchasing all new items, it’s time to warm up that sewing machine! 

New to the capsule wardrobe idea? Click the link for a quick explanation! 

This is what I came up with:

All of these inspiration pics were snagged from Pinterest. I have noticed I tend to stick to the same color scheme season after season with slight tonal variations. What can I say? I know what colors I look good in! But hey, that will make coordinating future seasons that much easier. 

I already have a couple of items made that are not on the picture list, but they do fall into the color scheme. I also did not include shoes or accessories. This is basically just a plan for what I am going to make! 

This is a version of the 4×4 style capsule wardrobe. The 4×4 and sudoku style capsule wardrobes are all the rage right now, but as someone who tends to add too many unnecessary rules to things, I figured I needed to give myself a break… live on the edge a little! 

Have you tried a capsule wardrobe before?   What style do you tend to follow? Unfancy, 4×4, sudoku, or something all your own? 

Happy Planning! 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

