Counting Your Blessings

Lately I have really been thinking about my little guy’s birth. Especially as we are nearing his first birthday, I think about how closely we escaped heartbreak. Not many people know this, but he had a Nuchal Cord x3 (cord wrapped around his neck 3 times), his heart rate would drop with every contraction, and he was desatting quickly in the womb. If we had not delivered so quickly due to his size, I probably would have had an emergency C-section. By all accounts, it ended up being a “routine birth”. But nothing is really ever routine, is it? In the past week, I have heard 3 stories of women who lost their children in childbirth. One involving a pinched nuchal cord. 

When you realize what you could have lost, it shakes you to the core. Hug your kids a little tighter tonight. Remember to smile. Enjoy their mischievousness. Read that book again for the 15th time. Enjoy your precious gifts from God! 

My heart goes out to all the women who have lost a child, in childbirth or by other means. I can’t imagine what you are going through. You show a superhuman strength unlike any other. For you, I pray for peace, I pray for comfort, and I pray for renewal. ❤

One Comment Add yours

  1. Thanks for the reminder. I too am blessed with countless blessings.

    Like

Leave a Reply

