Why I brought my facial routine back to basics!

I have always struggled with my skin. Too dry, too oily, cystic acne, dull skin, etc. I tried regimen after regimen of store bought and/or custom routines, medication, and nothing seemed to permanently clear up my skin.

Finally, I was introduced to the gut health and skin connection! It all made sense! My gut health was completely out of whack, and the evidence was all over my face! This combo has done WONDERS for my gut health, and this lotion has cleared my acne scars and prevents new cysts from forming.

I have found that simple is best when it comes to skincare. There are so many chemicals, fragrances, and other ingredients in most of the brands found on the shelves. There are so many natural products found in your kitchen that work wonders for skin! Here is the skinny on my routine!

Facewash: I make my own face wash (recipe to come in another post) that has a base of natural honey and Bragg’s raw apple cider vinegar. The other ingredients hide the vinegar smell, don’t worry! ACV is a natural astringent, antibacterial, and antifungal substance, balances pH, fights wrinkles, and removes toxins, so this is NOT something you want to leave out!

Toner: I use a 50% water 50% ACV blend in the evening, and this witch hazel/aloe vera/rose petal toner during the day. Witch Hazel clears your skin, and aloe vera and rose petal soothes your skin.

Moisturizer: I alternate between natural fractionated coconut oil combined with tea tree oil, and cold pressed jojoba oil with lavender for my moisturizer. Tea tree oil soothes flaky skin and treats acne, while lavender soothes inflamed skin and is an amazing anti-fungal. It is actually one of the best essential oils to fight and prevent MRSA. I also use the lotion I tagged above. Activated charcoal and sprulinated algae are only two of the amazing ingredients in this lotion!

Mask: I do a deep cleaning facial mask once a week to clean out my pores and prevent blockage. I use this healing clay mud mask mixed with activated charcoal and ACV. The first time I used it, I was AMAZED at how much clearer my skin was in just one use! It is perfect for cleansing pores and clearing blackheads.

I also regularly steam my face to open my pores before the mask. You just have to make sure to rinse with cool (not cold) water afterwards to close them back up.

Now, I still don’t have perfect skin by any means, but I no longer have cystic acne or scarring, and my acne seems to be more hormonal instead of my constant companion.

I hope this post can help someone find the answers they are looking for when it comes to their skin!

Much Love,

Melody

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

